Fr. Frank Kurtz celebrates 20 years of Priesthood

IMG_0399

Fr. Frank Kurtz is prior of Queen of Angels in Dickinson, Texas, the priory closest to my home parishes in Louisiana. The Society proves a brief interview with Father, relaying some of his story and how he got to where he is today. Happy Anniversary, Father!

~Damsel of the Faith

http://sspx.org/en/priestly-anniversaries-celebrated-us-district

Interview with Fr. Frank Kurtz

Could you tell us one of the events causing you to choose to enter the seminary?
I went to public schools and was a protestant until the 4th grade. That year (1980) my parents enrolled my brothers and I in Catholic (Novus Ordo) school because they knew we would get a better education.
As it happened, this was a very conservative Catholic school and parish. The priest was around 80 years old and had been at the parish since World War II. He wore a cassock, the sisters wore habits, everyone knelt at the communion rail and received communion in the traditional matter, we were taught Baltimore Catechism and sung some Latin. This was my introduction to Catholcism. I was only 9 years old and was when I first started thinking about becoming a priest.
After a few months my brothers and I were baptized and received into the Church. Our parents followed us into the Church a few months later.

Why did you come to the SSPX?
By the time I was in High School, I was still thinking about maybe becoming a priest. But at the same time, I was looking for a compromise. That compromise was to become a History Teacher. I was still Novus Ordo, but was displeased with the liberal aspects I saw in the Church.
I happened upon a TV special on Fatima and this convinced me that I should pray the Rosary. I was probably about 15 years old. But for the most part I suppressed the thought of becoming a priest.
After my high school graduation I was going to college. One morning in the Kansas City Times Newspaper, there was an article about SSPX, St. Vincent’s and St. Mary’s Academy and College. I decided that I would go to one of these Masses and see it for myself.
The first time I attended Mass with the SSPX was January 7, 1990. That was it. I was a Trad from that day forward. I started read the books by the Archbishop and by Michael Davies. I also started thinking about becoming a priest again.
That fall I transferred to St. Mary’s College. I years later, I entered Winona.

A fond memory of your seminary time?
There are so many! I especially liked Acts of the Magisterium with Bishop Williamson. There he was in his element. The ceremonies were always as solemn as possible and very beautiful. I was a sacristan and so getting ready for the big ceremonies like Corpus Christi and ordinations stick fine in my memory. And who could forget are trip to Rome and other European cities in 1995 (72 days if I recall correctly).

An anecdote of your priestly life?
I have been blessed to have always been placed in an apostolate were there was a school. Dickinson (4 years), Browerville-Long Prairie (3 years), St. Michaels School in England (3 years), Wanganui, New Zealand (2 years), St. Louis (5 years), Dickinson (3 years and counting). So I still became a teacher.

What would you say to a young man today?
I would simply quote St. Augustine: “Our hearts have been made for Thee O Lord, and they will not rest until the rest in Thee”

25 years, what are your regrets looking back?
My sins.

What are your prayers, looking forward?
I pray for perseverance of course. I have now witnessed marriages for those I gave first Holy Communion. I have had a teacher teaching for me that was once my student. Soon there will be someone I once baptized that will seek marriage. I have also seen children grow-up to become priests and religious. Others grew-up and now I teach their children.
It goes by very fast. My prayer is for the SSPX to continue to grow and that our school apostolates continue to produce the fruit that it does.

2 thoughts on “Fr. Frank Kurtz celebrates 20 years of Priesthood

Leave a Reply

